California Employee Leave

Under California law, businesses are required to provide employees with the following leaves of absence:

  • Sick Leave: All employees are eligible. Employees earn a minimum of 1 hour of sick pay for every 30 hours worked. Employees get 24 hours of sick leave per year.
  • California Pregnancy Disability Leave: Employees are eligible if Employer has 5 or more employees. This leave can last up to 17 1/3 weeks and is unpaid. However, the employee can claim up to 8 weeks of paid leave through Paid Family Leave.
  • California Paid Family Leave: All employees are eligible. This leave can last up to 8 weeks. Employees can receive about 60 to 70 percent of wages when filing with the EDD.
  • Voting Leave: All employees are eligible. Two (2) hours must be paid. If the employee needs more time, it is unpaid or they can use sick/vacation time.
  • Personal Leave of Absence: This leave is generally a matter of agreement between employer and employee. The employee must submit a request and it must be approved by the employer. Duration is based on the agreement made. The employee may use vacation/sick time or the leave can be unpaid.
  • School Leave for Activity Attendance: Employees are eligible if their employer has 25 employees or more. Employee must have children in school grades K through 12 and can take up to 40 hours each year. This leave is unpaid, unless employee uses vacation or paid time off provided by their employer, if applicable.
  • Military Leave: All employees who are also in the military are eligible for this leave, and they can take up to 30 days per calendar year of paid leave.